The Forest is Alive

I cross into the wilderness and step foot on to the crunchy orange-red leaves. I further myself from civilization until none is visible. I begin to shake and little dots pop out of my thin skin. I decide to make warmth with logs and friction, and am mildly succesful. My eyes drift up to the dark sky as a black bird swoops across the stars, and embers float in the subtle breeze. As soon as my eyelids begin to close off my pupils sight, I hear a crackle from above. Suddenly a torrent of flames blaze upon the tree above me, then stretch to the other trees around itself. I reach into my brain for what my instructors have told me to do, but I can’t grasp a word. I decide to look for a water source but not one can be found. A burst of adrenaline shoots into me and my legs start moving. My ears catch a cracking sound above me just before gravity takes the oak on flames into my fiery path. I turn and run into the same conflict. Stuck in bowl of fire.
The forest is alive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *